I have always written about almost everything I’ve gone through.  When I got sick a few years ago, I wrote about it and it really helped me deal with everything.  Ever since then, I let my mind wander away from healthy living.  That’s what this blog is gonna be about: me trying to find a way to eat healthy and live a healthy life again.
About five years ago I weighed what at the time was a monstrous amount for me.  I buckled down, did P90x and then insanity and lost somewhere around 40 pounds.  It was a total lifestyle change.  I stayed down weight wise for quite awhile but I still wasn’t what you would call healthy.  I had developed a very unhealthy view of myself.  If I was an ounce over 150 I felt like a whale.  I was still eating as unhealthy as ever but just smaller amounts.  That coupled with extreme exercise made me think I was in the best shape of my life.

I was pushing myself harder and harder and not taking care of myself.  I stopped teaching so that I could go back to school to be a nurse and make more money.  It was part of my new harder lifestyle that didnt see the value in teaching anymore.  

It was during nursing school that I messed up my knee while doing the exercise video TapOut.  I went from being able jog 13 miles at a time to hobbling around the room.  On top of that, I had never taught myself how to eat healthy so my weight gradually went up.  

A few years passed this way.  I was unable to work out and I just steadily gained weight.  I went from 150 to 175 quickly and now I’m over 200.  Nursing didn’t help matters.  I was too busy taking care of others to take care of myself.  For at least the last three years, I have thrown up at least three times a day and had insanely bad acid reflux at night that makes it impossible to sleep.  I’ve also lived off an exorbitant amount of energy drinks just to make up for the lack of energy I had gotten used to.  

Fast forward to me sitting here typing what will be my diet diary for lack of better term.  I’ve only posted once about dieting before in my life and it was a huge embarrassing failure.  I wrote about the whole 30 and how I was gonna do it and change my life.  Well, midway through day one I was three tortillas in and had completely blown any will power I had.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with the whole 30 I just couldnt do it.  

For that reason, I waited til I had been eating healthy for a week before I even thought about putting my diet diary online where everyone, or no one for that matter, could read it.  I’m doing really well though and have a lot more energy so I think its safe.  

My old regimen of eating taco bell and downing three energy drinks a day has been replaced, hopefully permanently.  I am using Juice Plus and Plexus together and drinking 100 oz of water a day to clear out my system.  My daily plan looks like this:

I wake up and drink 4 oz cranberry, 2 oz lemon, and a tbsp of apple cider vinegar.  Then I drink a Juice Plus shake. After that I get a shower and go for a walk before work.  Around ten, I take my Juice Plus vitamins after I’ve had enough water.  30 minutes before lunch I drink the Plexus slim drink and then for lunch I eat a salad with smoked chicken, almonds, cranberries, and carrots.  When I get home from work I go ahead and drink my Juice Plus shake and take my Plexus pills.  AFter all that’s done I go back up to the gym and walk some more. Its pretty boring but its my life right now.

I havent needed my acid reflux medicine in three days which is great cuz it gets expensive.  I’ve been free from fast food for a week now and my weight has already gone down from the all time high of 212 to 203.

My goal is totally different this time as I try to become healthier than it was when I did p90x.  I may have looked healthy back then but I really want to be healthy now.  I want to be gluten free, dairy free, and whatever else free.  I just want to feel better and I already do.  I was sleeping 12 hours a night because I was depressed about how I looked and felt and I’m already back to just sleeping 8 hours or so and waking up ready to go.  

I dont know how often I’ll post because, I think I forgot to say it, I am back to teaching and it keeps me busy.  I am so totally blessed by the group of kids I have this year.  I couldn’t do it without each and every one of them.  I’m also getting my Masters in Education so that I can be a counselor.  I’m also beginning to look into becoming a foster parent so I’ve got a lot of irons in the fire.  I hope the day finds you well and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

